Antonín Dvořák: String Quartets in G Major, Op. 106 & F Major, Op. 96 "American"

“The Pavel Haas players revel in the turbulence of the opening movement, but they savour the lyricism of the beautiful adagio, the rhythmic energy of the scherzo and the exuberance of the finale’s fiery allegro. Their account of the American Quartet belongs alongside the greatest performances on disc. In this repertoire, they are simply matchless today.”

The Sunday Times,  November 2010

“The Pavel Haas Quartet play with plenty of feeling and they also relish the rhythmic cut and thrust of the Molto vivace third movement, capturing to perfection the more relaxed Trio’s sunny spirit.The final opens to a gentle smile then keys up for some dancing exuberance … there’s an abundance of varied drama.”

Gramophone, December 2010

“Throughout, their understanding of the musical argument is exemplary … at every stage the performers respond with both passion and a clear feeling for musical line… In truth, there are so many details that delight the ear it would be almost impossible to list the all.”

BBC Music Magazine, December 2010

“The freshness of the Pavel Haas Quartet’s sound and approach is in the main a perfect match for this music: its wide-ranging palette, from intimate whispers to grander, symphonic gestures, is aptly deployed. Its tone is in general sweetly blended, homogenous and with obvious close rapport.”

International Record Review, December 2010

“There’s an arresting energy and atmosphere to the performances and they certainly contain new perspectives … the product is beautifully presented.”

Classic FM, January 2011